Thoughts about the Toyota Rav4

• Creator
    Topic
  • #157841 Reply
    Landyman

Although I’ve extended my lease for 2 years in the hope a larger ev coming on (but without a massive ap). But the draw of a new car on the drive is starting play on my mind.

A full EV is the way forward but my thoughts keep going to a hybrid namely the Toyota Rav4, as anybody have one, or any thoughts. I haven’t seen many posts about them

Viewing 23 replies - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • #157861 Reply
    brydo

Landyman I’m no expert on the Rav 4 but the motability “hybrid” offering is not a PHEV so not actually an EV. The PHEV version starts at the high end of £48,000 so unlikely to make the scheme and if it does there are likely to be better BEV alternatives.

The Rav4 however is a very good option with it being a decent size and, IMPO, a bit of a looker and if you get the mid 40,s mpg, would be a very decent choice.

#157879 Reply
    Landyman

Cheers brydo. The Rav4 not being a plug in is a bit of a downer but I really do love the look with plenty of room and good spec.

A bit more fact finding is called for.

#157882 Reply
    Menorca Mike
    Participant

A dear friend has a brand new Rav 4 it’s very economical refined and well equipped very quiet too I have a CHR 1.8 hybrid picked up March 16 th very economical I’m getting 67 mpg very quiet I love it

BBC Breakfast expert, Toyota CHR driver.

#157906 Reply
    Glos Guy
    Participant

Landyman – I must confess that I haven’t driven the latest hybrid version (we discounted it as we thought that the interior looked a bit cheap, plasticky and dated), but I bought my wife a brand new RAV4 2.0 GX 4WD Auto in 2002 and we absolutely loved it and kept it for 10 years. Even at 10 years old it was a joy to drive!