Should I wait to renew until after April price change?

• Creator
    Topic
  • #137979 Reply
    Nicole

Hi, I hope someone can advise me. I am nearly at the end of my first motability 3 year term. I am looking at renewing with the Hyundai Kona electric. Premium model advance payment is £2799 and Premium SE is £3999. I can’t afford the £4k payment, although the higher spec model has heated seats which really helps my arthritis, but this is wishful thinking as it’s too expensive. The new 2021 kona electric is due out at some stage soon. So I am wondering if they will soon reduce advance payments on the existing 2019 models? I hate the thought of paying £2799 for the more basic model without the heated seats and then in a couple of months the higher spec model is reduced to £3k or something and I will be wishing I had held off for a while. Is it normal for them to reduce prices in April? Or when new model comes out? This is my first time going through renewal so apologies if this sounds like silly questions. Thanks in advance

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • #137980 Reply
    Nicole

I should have included – the dealer told me she had a customer who paid £4500 for the higher spec kona last year, then it reduced to £4k shortly after, and the customer phoned motability and was able to get the difference refunded??

#137983 Reply
    Intranicity
    Participant

Sadly it’s impossible to advise, the car might not even be on the scheme next quarter, its a gamble, could go down, but could go up or even disappear.

Previous Motability Cars
    2006 - 2009 Skoda Superb VR6 2.0tdi
    2009 - 2012 Citroen C5 2.0tdi VTR Nav
    2012 - 2015 Nissan Qashqai 1.5dci tekna
    2015 - 2018 Ford Kuga 2.0tdi Titanium X
    2018 - 2021 BMW 220d X drive 2 Series Active Luxury
    2021- Hyundai Kona Electric Premium SE

#137986 Reply
    solent60
    Participant