Paying a Deposit

• This topic has 25 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 3 months ago by Marcus.
  • Creator
    Topic
  • #148332 Reply
    Tracie
    Participant

Hello. I am new to the motability scheme and will be ordering a car soon. We have several we like that require a deposit (we know some cars don’t need a deposit). My question is; when changing a car every 3 years, do you have to pay a deposit each time ? Or is the deposit just a one-time thing at tbe begining of joining the scheme?

Viewing 25 replies - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • #148334 Reply
    vinalspin
    Participant

No deposits are required for cars when ordering on the scheme, any deposit asked for by a dealer is for them and has nothing to do with Motability.

I have never paid a deposit and when I have been asked for one I refused, only once did I have to go to a different dealer as they wouldn’t accept an order without one and insisted it was non refundable so I walked away.

If you want to risk giving a deposit then that is between you and the dealer and may be difficult to get back should you have to change/cancel your order for any reason.

#148336 Reply
    Abdikareem

Do you mean advanced payment?

if so you would need to pay every 3 years depending on the AP at the time.

#148352 Reply
    FiestaRed

Not sure if by “deposit” you mean the Advance Payment (AP)?

If it is the AP you mean, this has to be paid every time you lease a new car. The AP varies quite a bit between the different makes and models of car although some are usually available with zero AP.

Hope this helps.

#148353 Reply
    Appleman