could you pass the driving test today

• Creator
    Topic
  • #139411 Reply
    martinod

iv been driving about 37 years and i sure iv picked up a few bad habits , yet i still think i am a good driver i think my driving lessons were £4  each at the time i was 17

with lots of things changing over the years with driving test if you were to sit a driving test and theory test  today do you think you would pass with all the changes , be honest.

i would like to say yes , but i not sure

Viewing 16 replies - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Replies
  • #139414 Reply
    Lou

I have always been complimented on my smooth safe driving and have never to this day got a single point or fine….been driving 15yrs this year (16yrs if you add the learning) but I will hand on heart say, no I do not think I will pass if I had to take my test again. It was about £15-£20 an hour for a single lesson when I done it and the theory was a solid 35 questions (which I got full marks first time)….I would not like to take it again but I do want to train for a hgv licence 😎

#139415 Reply
    Intranicity
    Participant

I have been driving for nearly 40 years, taught by the military, and had car, HGV2 and tracked vehicle licences, as well as high speed training for blue light duties.  Would I pass the current driving test…  I hope not!

Would I pass the Institue of advanced drivers test, probably.

The initial driving test really only teaches you the basics of driving and how to pass a test, not how to drive.  I’m always looking 4 or 5 cars ahead, drive to the conditions and indicate when needed, if there’s no one around I don’t bother.  I expect if I focused on keeping my hands on the wheel, moved the mirrors to force me to move my head to see in them so the examiner could see that etc, I could pass the test, but that really isn’t a great level to be at.

Previous Motability Cars
    2006 - 2009 Skoda Superb VR6 2.0tdi
    2009 - 2012 Citroen C5 2.0tdi VTR Nav